Our Kauai primary voting picks

SUBHEAD: Island Breath's endorsements for Kauai Primary Election 8/1 - 8/13.

By Linda Pascatore on 28 July 2016 for Island Breath

Image above: Still from video of Gary Hooser speaking in front of the Kauai County Council Building in support of bill 2492 to regulate restricted pesticides on Kauai. From (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=223Sbj8UFkA).

Island Breath picks are based on general progressive, liberal positions, with an emphasis on the environment, peace, equality, and Hawaiian Sovereignty; with special emphasis on Anti-GMO/Pesticide/Big Ag positions by the candidiates.

Primary voting Schedule
  • Early Walk In Voting for Primary: 1 August to 11 August 2016
  • Last day to request Mail in Ballot: 6 August 2016
  • Primary Elections: 13 August 2016 - Polls open 7am to 6pm
To register to vote, update existing voter registration, confirm voter address, and request to vote by mail, find your polling place, or view your ballot, go to: https://olvr.hawaii.gov/Default.aspx

**Special Island Breath Endorsement:  Gary Hooser for Kauai County Council
Our favorite politician of all time: if you vote for only one person on this ballot, vote for Gary!

Our recommended candidates are in italics with larger print. We did not include those running unopposed.

We found information on candidates records and positions on Votesmart (http://votesmart.org/), the League of Women Voters (http://www.lwv-hawaii.com/candidates-2016.htm), and also in articles profiling individual candidates in Honolulu Star Advertiser, Civil Beat and The Garden Island.

On the front page of the primary ballot, you must first choose one political party or non-partisan, and then vote only for those candidates. 

Democratic Party
US Senator:

Christensen, Makani
Honeychurch, Tutz
Reeyes, Arturo 
* Schatz, Brian
Shiratori, Miles

US Representative, Second District (Kauai)
Chan Hodges, Shay
* Gabbard, Tulsi

(Note: Shay Chan Hodges has excellent positions on issues, and is generally more progressive than Gabbard.  However, we recommend Gabbard because of her already powerful position in the House, and because of her endorsement of Bernie Sanders and bravery in standing up to the DNC)

Hawaii State Senator: (Kauai) check your location here https://olvr.hawaii.gov/Default.aspx
* Ahuna, Kanoe
Kouchi, Dan

Hawaii State Representative: (Kauai) check your location here https://olvr.hawaii.gov/Default.aspx
District 14:
Nakamura, Nadine
* Rosenstiel, Fern Anuenue

(Note: Nadine lost our support when she left the council at the time of the crucial GMO vote to take an appointment from Carvalho)

District 15: (Kauai) check your location here https://olvr.hawaii.gov/Default.aspx
* Oi, Tommy
Tokioka, James Kunane

(Note: Tommy is not that progressive, but we judge him to be better than Tokioka)

Republican Party
(Note: we don't usually vote on the Republican ballot, but our picks here are for the most progressive of the Republicans running) 

US Senator:
* Carroll, John
Gottschalk, Karla (Bart)
Pirkowski, Eddie
Roco, John P

US Representative, 2nd District:
* Hafner, Eric
Kaaihue, Angela Aulani

(Note: Eric is an excellent candidate and we agree with almost all of his positions)


On the back page of your ballot, you will find the non-partisan votes for Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA), Prosecuting Attorney, and County Council:

Kauai County Council:  (vote for not more than 7 candidates)

Special Note on voting for County Council:
Island Breath is recommending voting for no more than the three candidates noted below.  If you vote for all seven, but really support just three candidates, your #4, 5, 6 and 7 votes could enable those other candidates to win over your top candidates.  Consider voting for fewer--a practice called "plunking", explained further in this link: https://garyhooser.wordpress.com/2016/07/26/do-not-vote-in-the-council-race-until-you-read-this-please/ 

Apalla, Juno-Ann A
Bernabe, Matt
Brun, Arthur
* Chock, Mason
Doctor Sparks, Norma
Fukushima, Richard S
* Hooser, Gary L
Kagawa, Ross K
Kaneshiro, Arryl
Kawakami, Derek S K
Kualli, Kipukai
Rapozo, Mel
* Yukimura, JoAnn A

Kauai County Prosecuting Attorney (both candidates advance to general election)
Lisa Arin 
* Justin Kollar

Office of Hawaiian Affairs (OHA): Hawaii Resident Trustee: (vote for one candidate)
(Note: recommendations based on their positions on true Hawaiian Sovereignty, not the Akaka bill)

Kahui, Bo V (Craig)
Lindsey, Robert K (Bob)
* Trask, Mililani B

Molokai Resident Trustee: (vote for one candidate)
Flowers, Jerry (Manuwa) 
* Hanapi, Alapai
Machado, Colette (Pipi'i)

At large trustee: (vote for one candidate)
* Akina, Keli'i
Anthony, Daniel K
Apoliona, Haunani
Crum, Couglas E
Kalima, Leona Mapuana
Makekau, Keali'i
Mossman, Paul Ledwith


1 comment :

Ray said...

thank you for putting this together

Post a Comment