Big Island to appeal GMO ruling

SUBHEAD: Dru Kanuha was the only man who voted for Hawaii County to support its GMO ban.

By Shannon Rudolph on 18 December 2014 in Island Breath -
(http://islandbreath.blogspot.com/2014/12/big-island-ro-appeal-gmo-ruling.html)


Image above: Council members who voted for Hawaii County to appeal overturning of their GMO ban with supporters. From Shannon Rudolph.

Aloha! GREAT NEWS!
MAHALO to all who Showed up!!!  This may not have happened without you!

Today, the Hawaii Island Council voted 5/4 to APPROVE the APPEAL of Federal Judge  Barry Kurren's ruling that invalided the Hawaii County GMO ban! This ruling could also invalidate our 2008 ban on GMO taro and Kona Coffee as well.

Pray our GMO Ban WILL be upheld on appeal! Stay tuned!

Five YES Votes 
The Hawaii County Council members supporting the GMO Ban
Karen Eoff, Maile David, Val Poindexter, Margaret Wille, and Dru Kanuha.

Please send them a quick email "Mahalo Nui Loa!"
margaret.wille@hawaiicounty.gov, karen.eoff@hawaiicounty.gov, maile.david@hawaiicounty.gov, valerie.poindexter@hawaiicounty.gov, dru.kanuha@hawaiicounty.gov


Image above: Council member Dru Mamo Kanuha was the only man who voted for Hawaii County to appeal overturning of their GMO ban. From (http://kaunewsbriefs.blogspot.com/2011_10_13_archive.html).

[IB Editor's note: Is this about nurturing versus exploiting? Thank you Dru Kanuha for leaving the Man Cave!]

Four NO Votes
The Hawaii County Council members against the GMO Ban
Aaron Chung, Greggor Ilagan, Dennis Onishi, Daniel Paleka

Their emails:
greggor.ilagan@hawaiicounty.gov, dennis.onishi@hawaiicounty.gov, daniel.paleka@hawaiicounty.gov, aaron.chung@hawaiicounty.gov

.

1 comment :

  1. In essence you support going against the will of the majority of the voters and use the council members to veto "the people". Beware of the dangerous precedent your setting. What law will be next?

    ReplyDelete